tis the iPhone season

Well, it’s that time of year again. The leaves are beginning to change colors, as are the new bodies of the iPhone 5s and 5c. As I’ve mentioned before, I’m quite the iPhone fan. I’m not the most technologically advanced person, so I’m not always fawning over the updated version of something I already have. I have an iPhone 4. Not a 4s and not a 5. I honestly couldn’t tell you the major differences between all of them. However, my update through AT&T is coming up, so I’m beginning to get excited for the new versions.

With all the advancements in technology, this got me wondering if these newer versions can aid in journalism as well. I listened to a great podcast  presented by Richard Aedy on ABC Radio National. This interview is with Stilgherrian who is an independent technology writer and broadcaster. He had some interesting points to make.

Throughout the interview, there is an emphasis on how the actual phone, the iPhone 5 at the time, could aid with journalism. The truth is the advancements on the phone won’t necessarily help journalists, but the applications will. Coveritlive, YouTube, WordPress, Ustream and Livestream were just some of the ones mentioned. As iPhones advance, their storage size generally increases as well. This is what benefits journalists. This gives us the ability to run multiple applications at once. What I found interesting was that there seemed to be little differences that would make it worthy to purchase a new iPhone.

So, my vote is in. Go get the new iPhone if you want, but don’t feel pressured to if you’re using it for journalism purposes. Odds are, your iPhone is in just as good condition and will work just as well. But, they do have new colors.

 

New look for iPhone 5c. Photo taken from ABC News.

New look for iPhone 5c. Photo taken from ABC News.

Leave a Reply

